Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN)
WARN offers protection to workers, their families and communities by requiring employers to provide notice 60 days in advance of covered plant closings and covered mass layoffs.
Employers are covered by WARN if they have 100 or more employees, not counting employees who have worked less than 6 months in the last 12 months and not counting employees who work an average of less than 20 hours a week. Private, for-profit employers and private, nonprofit employers are covered, as are public and quasi-public entities which operate in a commercial context and are separately organized from the regular government. Employees entitled to notice under WARN include hourly and salaried workers, as well as managerial and supervisory employees.
The employer must give written notice to the:
- Chief elected officer of the exclusive representative(s); or
- Bargaining agency(s) of affected employees; and
- Unrepresented individual workers who may reasonably be expected to experience an employment loss.
The employer must also provide notice to the State Rapid Response Coordinator and to the chief elected official of the unit of local government in which the employment site is located.
Written Notifications from the employer must be delivered 60 days prior to the plant close sure or mass layoff.
Send WARN Notices and direct questions to:
State Rapid Response Coordinator
Employer Engagement Administration
Arizona Department of Economic Security
1789 W. Jefferson St
Phoenix, AZ 85017 - Mail Drop 5571
Non-WARN layoffs are reported by employers who are experiencing plant closures or layoffs that are not required to report through the Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN).
Questions about non-WARN layoffs (not required to report under WARN) may be directed to the Local Rapid Response Coordinator in your area.
You may view the lists of companies who have issued WARN or Non-WARN Notices by using the search on the Arizona Job Connection website.