Adult Protective Services
In 1980, the Arizona Legislature passed the Adult Protective Services Act to provide protection for vulnerable adults who are 18 years of age or older. This law gave the Arizona Department of Economic Security (DES), Adult Protective Services program (APS), the authority to receive and assess reports of abuse, neglect and exploitation of vulnerable adults.
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 46-451 and § 46-452 establishes the roles and responsibilities of an APS professional and authorizes APS to investigate allegations of abuse, neglect, and exploitation of vulnerable adults. A vulnerable adult is defined as someone 18 years and older who is unable to protect themselves due to a physical or mental impairment or a court has deemed incapacitated (A.R.S. § 14-5101). APS investigates these reports to determine whether the adult is vulnerable and in need of protective and supportive community services and whether the allegations occurred. APS also responds to reports of self-neglect-- when a vulnerable adult is alleged to be unable to meet their minimum basic needs due to a physical or mental impairment.
About Our Data
The State Fiscal Year (SFY) runs from July 1 to June 30 of each year. APS data is updated monthly and is subject to change due to additional information obtained over the course of an investigation. Variations in data can be the result of:
- Client relocation
- Case closures
- Information received from multiple sources on the same client
APS has undergone reporting changes over time, so trend comparisons may not be entirely comparable. Client-specific, personally identifying information is withheld due to confidentiality requirements.