Federal and State law requires employers to report newly hired and re-hired employees in Arizona. Employers are also required to abide by the notice to withhold an employee’s income.
You, the employer, can make free, secure and convenient child support payments online.
You can receive and respond to future child support notices electronically.
Use the Arizona New Hire Reporting Center to report a new employee.
When you receive an Order/Notice to Withhold Income for child support, federal and state regulations require you to:
Support payments and handling fees must be paid to the Support Payment Clearinghouse.
Important: Child support withholdings take priority over any other legal process, even if another withholding order was served first. Child support must be withheld, up to 50% of the employee’s disposable earnings, before deductions for other withholding orders are taken. The only exception is if a federal tax levy is received before the Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support.
The withholding must remain in effect until the Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) officially notifies the employer, in writing, to adjust or terminate withholding. You may not stop the withholding because the employee has asked you to do so, or because the arrears appear to be paid. An employer may be found liable for any payments not withheld as required.
Employers may charge a processing fee of up to $1.00 per payroll period, or a maximum of $4.00 per month, from the remainder of the employee’s earnings, after the child support has been withheld. Do not deduct the fee from the child support payment.
For multiple employees: If the employer is remitting a list of employees, the transmittal must reconcile to the check amount. If this information in not included, it may delay payments being sent out to the custodial parent.
Note: Employers shall not enter a negative amount for any employee. This will cause the postings to not balance and will delay payments to the custodial parents.
Register to utilize our eEmployer service to receive and respond to future child support notices electronically.
eEmployer enables you and your staff to receive and respond to child support notices electronically. Our online services were developed to minimize your administrative burden while complying with your legal requirements related to child support.
Email your questions to [email protected]
Enroll to pay child support via Electronic Fund Transfer for Employers
Arizona Centralized Payment Processing
844-518-4385 toll free
iPayOnline is a free, secure and convenient way for employers to make child support payments.
The Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement has developed an electronic Income Withholding Order (e-IWO) process that enables you to:
There is no cost to participate in the e-IWO program. To efficiently and cost-effective exchange income withholding order information, visit the federal Office of Child Support Enforcement
Use the Child Support Allocation Worksheet to determine the amount of income to withhold from the employee’s pay check.
To pay by check:
PO Box 52107
Phoenix, AZ 85072
Overnight Express Payments can be sent to:
Arizona Department of Economic Security
DCSS – SDU S/C 019A – Mail Drop 7214
1789 W. Jefferson, 3rd Floor SW
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Note: Correspondence should not be submitted with a check.
DCSS has administrative authority to issue Limited Income Withholding Orders (LIWOs) against lump sum amounts paid to employees who owe child support (current and/or past due). LIWOs are issued against non-periodic lump sum payments: severance pay, sick pay, vacation pay, bonuses, insurance settlements, commissions, stock options, excess proceeds, retroactive disability proceeds, and personal injury awards.
To report a lump sum payment (such as severance pay or bonuses):
After DCSS receives your list of eligible employees, you will receive a LIWO for each employee either by fax or mail. Please remember to include your fax number with all your correspondence because these orders cannot be emailed.
Each employee has 10 business days in which to dispute the LIWO interception by using the Administrative Review Request process. The request is included in the LIWO packet DCSS sends out.
If employee bonuses are taxable income, you may withhold up to 50% of the lump sum amount, up to the child support arrears balance reported on the LIWO.
If employee bonuses are not taxed, you may withhold up to 100% of the lump sum amount, up to the child support arrears balance reported on the LIWO.
Remit lump sum payments and include the ATLAS case number listed on the LIWO to:
PO Box 51207
Phoenix, AZ 85072-2107
Report a New Hire at the Arizona New Hire Reporting Center
You will need your Federal EIN.
Important: If a former employee that child support payments were being withheld from is rehired with 90 days, do not wait to receive a new Order/Notice to Withhold for Child Support – You must honor the existing notice.
Use the Notification of Employment Termination form to report a terminated employee.
Print and send Termination Notice to:
Division of Child Support Services P.O. Box 40458, Phoenix, AZ 85067 Or Fax to: (602) 353-5730
When an employee who owes child support ends his/her employment, you must notify the Arizona Support Payment Clearinghouse (SDU) in writing and provide them with:
The National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) is a standardized federal form that all state IV-D child support agencies must use.
The NMSN Requirements:
DCSS will complete its section of the form and send it to the employer with the rest of the National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) packet.
If yes: complete the Employer Response form and return it to the issuing agency (DCSS or an out-of-state IV-D child support agency) within 20 business days.
If no: forward Part B: Medical Support Notice to your health plan administrator. The plan administrator will notify you when enrollment has been completed.
Notify your payroll office or service to make the appropriate deductions for the employee contribution required under the health plan. At this point, you can determine whether the total deductions are greater than the maximum allowed under the Consumer Credit Protection Act and any applicable state law.
Employers should contact the DCSS Employer Relations Team
If your employee has questions, have them contact their case manager or call DCSS Customer Service at 602-252-4045 or 800-882-4151.
Toll-Free in Arizona 1-800-882-4151
Monday -Friday, 7:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.