After the eligibility interview, you will be mailed a QUEST Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card issued by Fidelity National Information Services (FIS). The card generally arrives before the eligibility notice. The EBT card works just like an ATM/debit card.
Please note that you may receive the EBT card even if you are not eligible. Keep the card in a safe place because the card is active, does not expire, and can be used if you are eligible at a later date. The first replacement card in a calendar year is free. You are charged $5 for each additional replacement card. When you and your EBT alternate card holder requests more than 4 cards within a 12-month period, you may have to answer questions about the reason for your request as part of the EBT card replacement process. Also, a fraud investigation may be initiated.
When are my benefits put on my card every month?
Cash Assistance benefits will be available on your EBT card 5 a.m. (Arizona time) on the first day of each month that you are eligible.
Can I get my Cash Assistance benefits all at one time?
You may be eligible for one large lump-sum payment through the Grant Diversion Program. Ask your eligibility interviewer about this program during your interview.
Where can I use my Cash Assistance Benefits?
The Cash Assistance EBT card can be used at any ATM or point-of-sale terminal that accepts EBT. Arizona state law prohibits the use of the Cash Assistance EBT card at all ATMs and point-of-sale terminals located in liquor stores, gambling casinos, race tracks, adult entertainment establishments, and medical marijuana dispensaries. Arizona state law also prohibits purchasing lottery tickets with a Cash Assistance EBT card.
You are allowed to use your EBT card outside of Arizona. A notice will be sent requiring you to answer questions about your EBT usage when 10% or more of your benefit amount is used outside of Arizona during a six month period.
How long can I receive Cash Assistance Benefits?
The Federal Lifetime Benefit Limit restricts the primary applicant and his or her spouse to receive Cash Assistance for 60 months, in Arizona or any other state, unless exempt. The lifetime limit does not apply to members of the household who are under 18.
The State Benefit Limit restricts the primary applicant and his or her spouse to receive Cash Assistance, for themselves or only for a dependent child, for 12 months in the State of Arizona, unless exempt. The State Benefit Limit does not apply to Tribal TANF.
Some households are able to get additional Cash Assistance when they have a hardship. Also, some households are able to receive an additional 12 months of Cash Assistance when no one in their household is in a Jobs Program sanction status for the final month of Cash Assistance and the final month is 10/2017 or later; and their children (ages 6-15 years old) go to school. To apply for a hardship or 12-month time extension, complete and submit the Cash Assistance Benefit Limit Extension Request (Word Form) with verification.
How do I change my address?
You may report changes on-line at MyFamilyBenefits. You may also report changes by:
Completing the FAA Change Report form (FA-412) and mailing, faxing, or bringing it to your local DES office. Download the Change Report form (153 KB DOC); or the Spanish version Informe de Cambios (168 KB DOC).
What policy changes were implemented with the Arizona Legislative changes that are effective 08/09/17?