

News Release

Neal Young, Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MEDIA CONTACT Steve Meissner 602-542-5204 smeissner@azdes.gov

Monthly child-support payment fee rises to \$5 a month from \$2.25

Phoenix – (June 29, 2010) A fee designed to ensure that child support payments reach the children who need them is being increased by \$2.75 a month, effective July 1.

The Clearinghouse Fee was increased from \$2.25 a month to \$5 a month as part of legislative action to assure that the state budget in Arizona remains balanced.

The fees are mandated in cases when an Arizona court issues an order requiring a child support payment, or in cases in which a so-called "foreign" state order for child support has been registered in Arizona.

Non-custodial parents who make court-ordered child support payments will begin paying the \$5 monthly amount with payments due July 1. Employers who were served with an income withholding order must add the increase to the payments they withhold from employee salaries.

These child-support orders are either required under the Title IV-D of the 1975 Social Security Act, which requires agencies in each state to ensure that child support payments are being made, or they are managed in each of Arizona's 15 counties by the local Clerk of The Superior Court.

If you have questions involving a so-called IV-D child support case, please contact the Arizona Department of Economic Security's Division of Child Support Enforcement Customer Service at (602) 252-4045, or 1-800-882-4151

Anyone with a question about a non IV-D Program case in Arizona should contact their local county Clerk of the Superior Court.