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INCREASE IN THE ARIZONA MINIMUM WAGE
Effective January 1, 2020

This Informational Broadcast is to inform all WIOA and partner program staff that, in
accordance with Arizona’s Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, the State of Arizona’s
minimum wage increases to $12.00 per hour on January 1, 2020.

Arizona’s Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act applies to all employees, with the following
exceptions:

o A person who is employed by a parent or a sibling;

. A person who is employed performing babysitting services in the employer’'s home on a
casual basis;

. Any person employed by the State of Arizona; however, political subdivisions of this

state would be required to comply with the state minimum wage law;

. Any person employed by the United States government;

o Any person employed in a small business grossing less than $500,000 in annual
revenue, if that small business is not covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act;
and

o Employees who regularly receive tips and who are otherwise exempt under federal

minimum wage laws. For any employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or
gratuities, an employer may pay a wage up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum
wage.

NOTE: The Federal minimum wage remains $7.25 per hour.

Please ensure that all appropriate personnel have been informed of this change in Arizona law.
For more information, please visit https://www.azica.gov/labor-minimum-wage-main-page.



https://www.azica.gov/labor-minimum-wage-main-page

