Your Partner For A Stronger Arizona

## DIVISION OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES

Sent on Behalf of DES/DDD

## **FOCUS 6-MONTH TIMELY FILING ISSUE UPDATE**

Target Audience - Qualified Vendors and Providers

Transmittal Date - 4/29/2019

This communication serves to notify all providers that the Claims Processing issue mentioned in the March 21, 2019, vendor announcement has been corrected. As of April 8, 2019, system edits have eliminated the possibility of a vendor incorrectly receiving a ">6 month error" message. If you feel that you have received an inaccurate ">6 month error" timely filing message subsequent to April 8, 2019, please contact the DDD Customer Service Center via email, <a href="DDDCustomerServiceCenter@azdes.gov">DDDCustomerServiceCenter@azdes.gov</a>, or phone, 1-844-770-9500, for resolution.

As a reminder, QVs and Providers have six months from the date of service to submit an initial claim. After the initial claim submission, QVs and Providers have twelve months (from the date of service) to get the claim clean.

Per Arizona Revised Statutes, §36-2904 G: The Division shall not pay claims for system covered services that are **initially submitted more than six months after the date of the service** for which payment is claimed or after the date that eligibility is posted, whichever date is later, or that are **submitted as clean claims more than twelve months after the date of the service** for which payment is claimed or after the date that eligibility is posted, whichever date is later. For the purposes of this subsection:

- "Clean claims" means claims that may be processed without obtaining additional information from the subcontracted provider of care, from a non-contracting provider or from a third party but does not include claims under investigation for fraud or abuse or claims under review for medical necessity.
- 2. "Date of service" for a hospital inpatient means the date of discharge of the patient.
- 3. "Submitted" means the date the claim is received by the administration or the prepaid capitated provider, whichever is applicable, as established by the date stamp on the face of the document or other record of receipt.

If you have questions related to this communication please call 1-844-770-9500 or send them to <a href="mailto:DDDCustomerServiceCenter@azdes.gov">DDDCustomerServiceCenter@azdes.gov</a>.