

Volume XXVII - December 2021

COVID-19 Update

Arizonans 5 years of age and older can receive the Pfizer vaccine and Arizonans 18 years of age and older can receive the Moderna or Johnson & Johnson vaccine. The CDC has published the following recommendations regarding COVID-19 booster shots:

- People 16 years and older who received the second dose of the Pfizer vaccine at least 6 months ago should get the booster.
- People 18 years and older who received the second dose of the Moderna vaccine at least 6 months ago should get the booster.
- People 18 years and older who received the Johnson & Johnson vaccine at least 2 months ago should get the booster.

The CDC says a person aged 18 years and older does not need to get the same vaccine brand booster they received for their initial vaccine. Any vaccine booster will have the desired effect of boosting the person's immune system against COVID-19.

Individuals aged 16-17 who received the second dose of the Pfizer vaccine at least 6 months ago should only get the Pfizer booster vaccine, they should not mix brands.

Whether they are getting a booster or their first dose, members or their families can contact their DDD Health Plan for assistance if they need an in-home vaccination or an appointment can be made at a local pharmacy like Walgreens or CVS. A text message with their zip code can also be sent to GETVAX (for English) or VACUNA (for Spanish) to receive a message with three vaccination sites near them, with phone numbers to call to schedule an appointment.

Claims System Update

As announced earlier this year and as part of the Division's Current 2 Future Initiative, DDD is updating its claims system in order to be compliant with state and federal regulations and to resolve the AHCCCS HIPAA TCS Compliance Claims Processing System Notice to Cure.

The new system will utilize the Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) and standard Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) claims forms when reimbursing Qualified Vendors for submitted claims. This will include the use of standardized Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Transactions and Code Sets (TCS) in lieu of DDD proprietary codes currently being used by vendors when submitting claims. Qualified Vendors will be required to submit claims on official, nationally-recognized forms. The current DDD billing template will be replaced by these forms. Vendors will have three options for submitting claims:

- Submit a CMS 1500 form in paper form
- Submit an electronic 837 form
- Manually enter claims directly in Wellsky for each authorization

DDD is anticipating completing a User Acceptance Testing (UAT) in early 2022 with a group of Qualified Vendors who tested an initial version of the claims system earlier this year. Once the system is determined to be fully functional, DDD will provide Qualified Vendors with 60-days notice before all claims will be required to submit claims using the new system. Training sessions will be available once the system is determined to be fully operational.

As a reminder, all Qualified Vendors will have access to two accounts that will be used to submit claims billings. The Vendor's contract main point of contact or designee must designate these billing users by identifying them in the FOCUS system. Contract main points of contact or designee can assign these users following these three steps:

- 1. Login in to the Focus and select the Admin Tools application.
- 2. Choose "Users" at the top of the page.
- 3. Click the "Assign" button in the column labeled "Access to WSHS" for up to two individuals who will be able to access the claims system.

The Division has <u>published a page</u> on its website where information about this project, including Frequently Asked Questions, are available for review. If you have questions about the project, please submit them using this form, https://forms.gle/qZ5KWjZryEa2NfRY7.

Third Party Billing and QV Data Sharing Agreements

The Division of Developmental Disabilities has determined some Qualified Vendor Agencies are using thirdparty vendors to complete their billing. The Qualified Vendor Agreement requires that QVs disclose this type of relationship in their Data Sharing Agreement (DSA) with DDD. Qualified Vendors Agencies that have not disclosed this relationship on their DSA, need to do the following immediately to remain in compliance with their Qualified Vendor agreement:

- 1. Submit an updated DSA with the following questions updated:
 - a. Question #3: WILL OTHER ENTITIES INTERFACE/WORK WITH YOUR ORGANIZATION?
 - i. Answer YES and list the name of the third-party vendor(s).
 - a. Question #4: WILL INFORMATION BE DISCLOSED/SHARED WITH ANOTHER ENTITY/ORGANIZATION?.
 - i. Answer YES and describe what information will be disclosed.
 - 1. E.g.) Qualified Vendor Inc. has a subcontract with Company XYZ to complete Qualified Vendor Inc's billing.
- 2. Create a unique FOCUS login for the third-party vendor. Qualified Vendor Agencies CANNOT share their FOCUS login credentials with any third-party. This is a data security risk and grounds for contract action as the CAS application within FOCUS contains member protected health information (PHI) and personal identifiable information (PII).

A copy of the DSA can be found on the DES website in the Document Center, https://des.az.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/dl/J-119.pdf?time=1638486719235.

National Core Indicators

<u>National Core Indicators (NCI)</u> is a collaborative effort between the National Association of State Directors of Developmental Disabilities Services (NASDDDS) and the Human Services Research Institute (HSRI). NCI uses a series of <u>surveys and in-person interviews</u> to measure member satisfaction and efficacy of DDD programs and services. The 2021-2022 National Core Indicator survey cycle will be starting in the coming months. This is an opportunity for members and their families to express their thoughts, feelings, and concerns around the services provided to them by the Division and for providers to provide data about their workforce.

In February 2022 the State Provider Portal will be available for Qualified Vendors to complete the annual Staff Stability Survey which includes questions about Arizona's Direct Care Workforce for January 2021-December 2021. This information is critical for Arizona to plan for how to support and improve the DCW workforce. All Qualified Vendors are requested to participate.

This year the Division will be asking Support Coordinators to help connect members with their assigned surveyor through Pilot Parents of Southern Arizona and urge participation of members selected. Pilot Parents of Southern Arizona surveyors are graduates of the <u>Arizona Partners in Leadership Program</u>, a program available to any member or family member who would like to participate, provided by an additional partnership/contract between DDD and Pilot Parents of Southern Arizona. Support Coordinators will gather 'Pre-survey' & 'Background Information' from Focus or a member's planning team about the members selected to participate. Qualified Vendors are asked to assist Support Coordinators if they are requested to provide information and to help connect selected members with the in-person surveyor.

The three family surveys will be sent to randomly selected members' families beginning in early 2022. Qualified Vendors are asked to encourage the selected families to complete the survey. Families can feel comfortable completing the survey knowing that DDD does not receive information related to individual feedback, only an aggregated report from NCI. The survey responses are not returned to DDD. Questions about National Core Indicator surveys, Arizona survey data, and other state survey reports can be sent to DDD's NCI Coordinator, Michelle Pollard, via email at NCISurveys@azdes.gov.

DDD Provider Publications Manager Duties

The DDD Provider Publications Manager regularly audits provider websites to verify link functionality, information consistency regarding approved services for members, usage of current DDD forms, the use of people-first language when referring to people with disabilities, and accuracy of legal citations. If a website contains fillable forms and is not using Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS), securing the website is recommended to the provider. Deficiencies are tracked by the DDD Publications Manager and communicated to providers per the AHCCCS deliverable guidelines. Per Division Provider Policy Manual Chapter 34 – Provider Publications, the Provider Publications Manager also reviews all vendor presentations, brochures and other member materials to ensure compliance with Division Operations Policy Manual Chapter 404. These materials should be submitted via email at ddddproviderpublications@azdes.gov.

Program Integrity Education

The Division's Program Integrity Unit (PIU) hosted education sessions for Qualified Vendors and Providers in mid-2021 to communicate standards and guidelines as well as other aspects of the Division's compliance programs. The PIU will again host a series of voluntary, virtual sessions for interested Qualified Vendors and Providers to discuss the aspects of program integrity and provide information related to staff roles and compliance responsibilities. The educational sessions, which are specific to each service type, have been scheduled as follows:

- Home and Community Based Services
 - Monday, March 7, 2022
 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022
 - Friday, March 11, 2022
- Group Homes, Day Treatment Services and Employment Services
 - Monday, March 14, 2022
 - Tuesday, March 15, 2022
 - Friday, March 18, 2022
- Developmental Home Services
 - Monday, March 21, 2022
 - Wednesday, March 23, 2022
 - Friday, March 25, 2022
- Therapy Services
 - Monday, March 28, 2022
 - Tuesday, March 29, 2022
 - Thursday, March 31, 2022

All sessions will be hosted through Google Meet which will be communicated in the January 2022 edition of the DDD Shout.

These sessions are not mandatory; rather, they are intended to provide valuable information and allow all Qualified Vendors and Providers to ask questions of the Division's PIU manager, Elanie Estrada. Staff whose main responsibilities are related to compliance/ethics and accounting/claims are highly encouraged to attend at least one of the sessions.

Vendor Information

The Division relies heavily on emailed Vendor Communication to convey critical service delivery information impacting members and families. The Division has identified multiple Qualified Vendors with outdated staff email addresses listed in Focus. These email addresses are shared with the Salesforce Marketing Cloud platform used to email communications to Qualified Vendors and Providers. This means your agency may be missing critical updates necessary to conduct business with DDD. The Division requests Qualified Vendors update the staff information in their Focus accounts and remove any outdated staff email addresses as the information is automatically transmitted and updated every month from Focus to Salesforce.

Fraud, Waste and Abuse (FWA) Requirements

The Division is tasked with providing guidance and technical assistance to Qualified Vendors to ensure understanding of their contractual obligations as well as compliance with state and federal laws and regulations. The Division provides guidelines to help delineate the vendors' responsibilities in developing and standardizing policies as well as maintaining and adapting them based on Division requirements and member needs. The following are the minimum policy requirements that serve as a guide for vendor policies to ensure they are compliant with Division rules and policies supporting program integrity.

- 1. Prevention and/or detection of Fraud, Waste and Abuse (FWA).
- 2. Requirements for reporting suspected FWA.
- 3. Requirements for completing FWA training.

- 4. Monitoring and internal controls to prevent and/or reduce FWA.
- 5. Misconduct
 - a. Reporting of suspicious actions observed and/or reported by member/representative or staff,
 - b. Explain referral and reporting requirements,
 - c. Explain whistleblowing protections,
 - d. Well-publicized Code of Conduct,
 - e. Describe investigative process,
 - f. Specify training.
- 7. False Claims Act Requirements
 - a. Describe the False Claim Act,
 - b. Explain the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005,
 - c. Prevent and/or detect FWA,
 - d. Specify training requirements,
 - e. Describe Stark Law,
 - f. Describe Anti-Kickback Statute,
 - g. Delineate oversight and internal controls to prevent and/or reduce the risk of potential FWA,
 - h. Explain whistleblower protections.

For more information, please refer to the following chapters in the Provider Manual:

- Chapter 20: Fraud, Waste and Abuse
- Chapter 21: False Claims Act

Town Hall Meetings

The Office of Individual and Family Affairs (OIFA) continues to host town hall meetings for members, families and providers. The next town hall meeting will be held on Thursday, January 6, 2022, from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. DDD will present updates and announcements. Dr. Susanne Arnold, DDD Behavioral Health Administrator, will give a presentation on behavioral health services available through the Division.

Please share this information with the members and families you serve and encourage them to participate. The town hall schedule and instructions to join via the Internet or phone can be found at bit.ly/dddtownhall.

Get Caught Up

Did you know the Division posts vendor announcements and editions of the Shout on the web? Get caught up and stay informed on all of the recent vendor communications, https://des.az.gov/services/disabilities/developmental-disabilities/vendors-providers/vendor-announcements.

Report Fraud, Waste, Abuse and Misconduct

Report to DDD

- Call DDD at 1-877-822-5799
- Send an email to <u>dddfwa@azdes.gov</u>
- Send a letter to DES/DDD

Attn: Corporate Compliance Unit

1789 W Jefferson St.

Mail Drop 2HA1

Phoenix, AZ 85007

• Complete this <u>online form</u>.

Report to AHCCCS

- Call the Office of the Inspector General at 602-417-4193
- Report Online at the <u>AHCCCS Website</u>
- Report Provider fraud by calling:
 - Maricopa County: 602-417-4045
 - Outside Maricopa County: 1-888-487-6686
- Report Member fraud by calling:
 - Maricopa County: 602-417-4193
 - Outside Maricopa County: 1-888-487-6686
- Submit general questions via email at AHCCCSFraud@azahcccs.gov