
Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Introduction

Purpose of This Schedule
Schedule 5.2 contains the rates that will begin in Fiscal Year 2005.  The Schedule contains two 
columns of rates.  The first column labeled “Benchmark Rate” contains the rates that the Division 
calculated through its rate setting process.  The second column labeled “Adopted Rate” contains the 
rates that the Division adopted for the published rate schedule and these are the rates to be used for 
each service when billing the Division. 
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5A - Home-Based Services

Unit of Service
1.  The basis of payment for all Home-Based Services except for Respite, Continuous is an hourly unit of direct service time.  Direct 
service time is the period of time spent with or on behalf of the consumer and verified by the consumer.  When billing, the Qualified 
Vendor should round its direct service time to the nearest 15-minute increment, as illustrated in the examples below:
- If services were provided for 65 minutes, bill for 1 hour.
- If services were provided for 68 minutes, bill for 1.25 hour.
- If services were provided for 50 minutes, bill for .75 hour.

2.  If the Qualified Vendor provides respite for a total of 13 or more hours (consecutive or non-consecutive) in one calendar day, this 
is considered to be Respite, Continuous.  A calendar day is a 24-hour stretch of time that begins at midnight and ends at 11:59 p.m. 
of the same day.  One unit of Respite, Continuous equals one day (13 or more hours in one calendar day) of direct service time.  A 
Qualified Vendor billing for Respite, Continuous will bill for the appropriate number of days of service and will include the actual 
cumulative hours of service provided on the billing document as required by the Division.  

3.  In no event will more than three consumers receive the same service with a single direct service staff person at the same time.
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5A - Home-Based Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Adopted DescriptionCode Service Clients Rate Rate

Attendent Care
AFC/ANC Attendant Care Client Hour 1 $14.75 $14.12 
AFC/ANC Attendant Care Client Hour 2 $9.22 $8.83 
AFC/ANC Attendant Care Client Hour 3 $7.38 $7.06 

Habilitation, Community Protection and Treatment Hourly
Habilitation, Community Protection HPH Client Hour 1 $19.78 $18.94 and Treatment Hourly
Habilitation, Community Protection HPH Client Hour 2 $12.36 $11.84 and Treatment Hourly
Habilitation, Community Protection HPH Client Hour 3 $9.89 $9.47 and Treatment Hourly

Habilitation, Support
HAH Habilitation, Support Client Hour 1 $18.83 $18.03 
HAH Habilitation, Support Client Hour 2 $11.77 $11.27 
HAH Habilitation, Support Client Hour 3 $9.41 $9.02 

Housekeeping
HSK Housekeeping Client Hour 1 $13.59 $13.01 
HSK Housekeeping Client Hour 2 $8.49 $8.13 
HSK Housekeeping Client Hour 3 $6.80 $6.51 

Respite, short-term
RSP Respite, short-term Client Hour 1 $14.46 $13.84 
RSP Respite, short-term Client Hour 2 $9.04 $8.65 
RSP Respite, short-term Client Hour 3 $7.23 $6.92 

Respite, continuous
RSD Respite, continuous Day 1 $176.82 $169.30 
RSD Respite, continuous Day 2 $110.51 $105.81 
RSD Respite, continuous Day 3 $88.41 $84.65 

Independent Living Services
Habilitation, Individually Designed HAI Client Hour 1 $19.03 $18.22 Living Arrangement
Habilitation, Individually Designed HAI Client Hour 2 $11.89 $11.39 Living Arrangement
Habilitation, Individually Designed HAI Client Hour 3 $9.52 $9.11 Living Arrangement

The element of the schedule is either new or was changed from the July 1, 2004 release
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5B - Day Treatment Services

Unit of Service
1. The basis of payment for this service is the ratio rate.  To determine the appropriate billing rate, the Qualified Vendor shall:  
a. Divide (the total billable hours consumers attended the program including hours allowed pursuant to item 3 below, excluding hours for behaviorally or 
medically intense consumers with a specially authorized rate) by (the total direct service staff hours with consumers present at the program, excluding 
hours related to behaviorally or medically intense consumers with a specially authorized rate); and
b. Use the resulting quotient, which is the number of consumer billable hours per direct service staff hours and can be stated as “1: (result from step a.)” 
staff to consumer ratio, to find the appropriate staff to consumer ratio rate on the rate schedule.
c.  The Qualified Vendor may calculate this ratio on a daily basis using actual hours for each day or may calculate the ratio at the end of the calendar 
month using the actual number of hours for the entire month to determine an average ratio for the month.

For example, if the number of hours attended by all consumers in a program plus the hours allowed pursuant to item 3 below (excluding behaviorally or 
medically intense consumers with a specially authorized rate) totaled 110 hours for a day (2,200 for the month), and the number of hours worked by 
direct service staff when consumers were present at the program (excluding hours related to behaviorally or medically intense consumers with a 
specially authorized rate) totaled 28 for that day (560 for the month), then the calculation would be:
- Total billable consumer hours divided by total direct service staff hours = 110 / 28 or 2,200 / 560 = 3.928
- This program’s ratio for this day is 1:3.928

For both consumers and direct service staff, units shall be recorded daily on the per consumer and per direct service staff basis, shall be expressed in 
terms of hours and shall be rounded to the nearest hour, as illustrated in examples below:
- If total hours for a consumer or direct service staff were equal to 3 hours and 5 minutes, round the total to 3 hours
- If total hours for a consumer or direct service staff were equal to 5 hours and 24 minutes, round the total to 5 hours
- If total hours for a consumer or direct service staff were equal to 5 hours and 30 minutes, round the total to 6 hours
- If total hours for a consumer or direct service staff were equal to 6 hours and 48 minutes, round the total to 7 hours

For Day Treatment and Training, Adult:
2. Absences do not constitute a billable unit except as provided in item 3 below.  An absence factor was built into the model rates.  The 
Division will not compensate Qualified Vendors for any absences.  For example, if a consumer stays in the day program for two hours in the 
morning, then leaves for two hours, and then returns for three hours, and all activity takes place within the same program day, total hours for 
this consumer shall be equal to five for that day.  If the consumer permanently stops attending the Qualified Vendor’s facility, then the Qualified Vendor 
shall notify the DDD Program Administrator/Manager or designee. The Qualified Vendor shall not bill the Division for vacancies.  

3. Qualified Vendors that do not provide transportation for a particular consumer may include up to one hour per day if that consumer arrives 
after his/her scheduled arrival time on that day or if that consumer leaves before his/her scheduled departure time on that day.  The calculation of the 
ratio will use the billable hours.  However, if the client is absent for the entire day, the Qualified Vendor may not include hours for that day for that client in 
the ratio.  In no event shall the Qualified Vendor submit a claim for more than the number of hours authorized for that consumer.

For Day Treatment and Training, Children:
2. Absences do not constitute a billable unit except as provided in item 3 below.  An absence factor was built into the model rates.  The Division will not 
compensate Qualified Vendors for any absences.  For example, if a consumer stays in the day program for two hours in the morning, then leaves for two 
hours, and then returns for three hours, and all activity takes place within the same program day, total hours for this consumer shall be equal to five for 
that day.  If the consumer permanently stops attending the Qualified Vendor’s facility, then the Qualified Vendor shall notify the DDD Program 
Administrator/Manager or designee. The Qualified Vendor shall not bill the Division for vacancies.

3. Qualified Vendors that do not provide transportation for a particular consumer may include up to 30 minutes per day if that consumer arrives after 
his/her scheduled arrival time on that day or if that consumer leaves before his/her scheduled departure time on that day.  The calculation of the ratio will 
use the billable hours.  However, if the client is absent for the entire day, the Qualified Vendor may not include hours for that day for that client in the 
ratio.  In no event shall the Qualified Vendor submit a claim for more than the number of hours authorized for that consumer.
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5B - Day Treatment Services

Service Benchmark Description Unit of Service Adopted RateCode Rate

Day Treatment and Training, Adult*
Day Treatment and Training, Adult -DTA Program Hour $9.65 $8.60Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:2.5 To 1:4.5
Day Treatment and Training, Adult - DTA Program Hour $7.03 $6.25Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:4.51 To 1:6.5
Day Treatment and Training, Adult - DTA Program Hour $5.81 $5.20Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:6.51 To 1:8.5
Day Treatment and Training, Adult - DTA Program Hour $5.10 $4.55Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:8.51 To 1:10.5

Day Treatment and Training, Children*
Day Treatment and Training, Children (After-School) - DTT Program Hour $9.32 $8.30Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:2.5 To 1:4.5
Day Treatment and Training, Children (After-School) - DTT Program Hour $7.18 $6.40Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:4.51 To 1:6.5
Day Treatment and Training, Children (After-School) - DTT Program Hour $6.19 $5.50Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:6.51 To 1:8.5
Day Treatment and Training, Children (After-School) - DTT Program Hour $5.61 $5.00Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:8.51 To 1:10.5

Day Treatment and Training, Children (Summer) - DTT Program Hour $9.32 $8.30Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:2.5 To 1:4.5
Day Treatment and Training, Children (Summer) - DTT Program Hour $7.18 $6.40Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:4.51 To 1:6.5
Day Treatment and Training, Children (Summer) - DTT Program Hour $6.19 $5.50Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:6.51 To 1:8.5
Day Treatment and Training, Children (Summer) - DTT Program Hour $5.61 $5.00Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:8.51 To 1:10.5
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5B - Day Treatment Services

Service Benchmark Description Unit of Service Adopted RateCode Rate

Rural Day Treatment and Training, Adult -DTR Program Hour $10.72 $9.60Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:2.5 To 1:4.5
Rural Day Treatment and Training, Adult - DTR Program Hour $8.08 $7.20Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:4.51 To 1:6.5
Rural Day Treatment and Training, Adult - DTR Program Hour $6.88 $6.15Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:6.51 To 1:8.5
Rural Day Treatment and Training, Adult - DTR Program Hour $6.17 $5.50Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:8.51 To 1:10.5

Modified Rates

Rural*
The Division established a separate rate for this service in the rural areas of the state.  This modified rate is authorized on a program basis and has a 
premium over the standard rate for this service.  The Qualified Vendor shall bill the Division this modified rate only after it receives authorization from the 
DDD Program Administrator/Manager or designee.  The general guideline for authorizing the modified rate for rural areas is that the potential client base 
of the program size has fewer than 20 consumers in a 40 mile radius.
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5B - Day Treatment Services

Service Benchmark Description Unit of Service Adopted RateCode Rate

Behaviorally or Medically Intense Day Treatment and 
DTA Training, Adult - Program Hour $18.83 $18.03

Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:1
Behaviorally or Medically Intense Day Treatment and 

DTA Training, Adult - Program Hour $11.77 $11.27
Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:2

Behaviorally or Medically Intense Day Treatment and 
DTT Training, Children (After-School) - Program Hour $18.83 $18.03

Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:1
Behaviorally or Medically Intense Day Treatment and 

DTT Training, Children (After-School) - Program Hour $11.77 $11.27
Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:2

Behaviorally or Medically Intense Day Treatment and 
DTT Training, Children (Summer) - Program Hour $18.83 $18.03

Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:1
Behaviorally or Medically Intense Day Treatment and 

DTT Training, Children (Summer) - Program Hour $11.77 $11.27
Staff : Consumer Ratio Of 1:2

The element of the schedule is either new or was changed from the July 1, 2004 release

Behaviorally or Medically Intense
The Division established a separate rate for this service to behaviorally or medically intense consumers. This modified rate is authorized on an individual 
consumer basis.  Special authorization for these consumers is required by the DDD Program Administrator/Manager or designee.  The rate is equal to 
the adopted Habilitation, Support rate.  The hours for these consumers and the direct service staff hours shall not be considered in determining the 
overall program staffing ratio for the remaining consumers.
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5C - Residential Services

Unit of Service
1.  For the Developmental Home services, one unit of service equals one day (24 hours) of service time.  A day begins at midnight and ends at 11:59 p.m.  
Unit of service includes transportation time spent with consumers during daily activities.

2.  For the Group Home services except for Habilitation, Nursing Supported Group Home, one unit of service equals one hour (60 minutes) of direct service 
time.  Direct service time is the period of time spent with or on behalf of the consumer and can be verified by consumer attendance records and includes 
transportation time spent with consumers during daily activities.  This unit of service is converted to a daily rate for billing purposes.

3.  For Habilitation, Nursing Supported Group Home, one unit of service equals one day (24 hours) of service time.  A day begins at midnight and ends at 
11:59 p.m.  Unit of service includes transportation time spent with consumers during daily activities.

4.  For Room and Board, All Group Home, one unit equals one day (24 hours).  If the consumer is a resident at 11:59 p.m. on a given day, the Qualified 
Vendor may bill that day for that consumer.
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5C - Residential Services

Service Unit of Contracted Actual Benchmark Adopted Description DistrictCode Service Capacity Occupancy Rate Rate

Developmental Home Services
Habilitation, Vendor Supported HBA* Day All N/A N/A $98.89 $109.75Developmental Home (Adult)
Habilitation, Vendor Supported HBC** Day All N/A N/A $100.87 $111.95Developmental Home (Child)

* The Benchmark Rate is based on the independent rate model, while the Adopted Rate is equal to the SFY 03 Provider "Floor" rate.
** The Benchmark and Adopted Rates include a 2% premium over HBA rate for additional provider training.

Room and Board, Vendor Supported RRB Day All N/A N/A $12.41 $11.88Developmental Home (Child and Adult)

Group Home Services*
Habilitation, Community Protection and HPD Staff Hour All N/A N/A $19.78 $18.94 Treatment Group Home*

HAB Habilitation, Group Home* Staff Hour All N/A N/A $17.79 $17.03 

* See Schedule 6 for daily rates

Habilitation, Nursing Supported Group HAN Day All N/A N/A $264.34 $253.56Home - Level I
Habilitation, Nursing Supported Group HAN Day All N/A N/A $326.00 $312.71Home - Level II
Habilitation, Nursing Supported Group HAN Day All N/A N/A $378.27 $362.85Home - Level III

Room and Board, All Group Homes
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 1 1 $36.64 $35.15 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 2 1 $39.59 $37.98 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 2 2 $23.75 $22.78 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 3 1 $48.47 $46.49 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 3 2 $28.15 $27.00 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 3 3 $21.37 $20.50 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 4 1 $52.85 $50.70 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 4 2 $30.32 $29.08 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 4 3 $22.81 $21.88 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 4 4 $19.05 $18.27 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 5 1 $61.65 $59.14 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 5 2 $34.70 $33.29 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 5 3 $25.73 $24.68 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 5 4 $21.24 $20.37 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 5 5 $18.54 $17.78 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 6 1 $65.64 $62.96 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 6 2 $36.69 $35.19 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 6 3 $27.04 $25.94 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 6 4 $22.22 $21.31 
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5C - Residential Services

Service Unit of Contracted Actual Benchmark Adopted Description DistrictCode Service Capacity Occupancy Rate Rate

RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 6 5 $19.32 $18.53 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 1 6 6 $17.39 $16.68 

RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 1 1 $32.27 $30.95 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 2 1 $35.29 $33.85 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 2 2 $21.60 $20.72 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 3 1 $43.41 $41.64 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 3 2 $25.62 $24.58 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 3 3 $19.69 $18.89 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 4 1 $47.18 $45.26 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 4 2 $27.48 $26.36 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 4 3 $20.91 $20.06 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 4 4 $17.63 $16.91 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 5 1 $54.75 $52.52 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 5 2 $31.25 $29.98 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 5 3 $23.42 $22.47 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 5 4 $19.51 $18.71 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 5 5 $17.16 $16.46 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 6 1 $58.18 $55.81 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 6 2 $32.96 $31.62 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 6 3 $24.55 $23.55 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 6 4 $20.35 $19.52 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 6 5 $17.83 $17.10 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 2 6 6 $16.15 $15.49 

RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 1 1 $37.30 $35.78 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 2 1 $40.79 $39.13 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 2 2 $24.35 $23.36 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 3 1 $49.82 $47.79 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 3 2 $28.83 $27.65 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 3 3 $21.83 $20.94 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 4 1 $54.44 $52.22 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 4 2 $31.11 $29.84 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 4 3 $23.33 $22.38 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 4 4 $19.44 $18.65 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 5 1 $63.45 $60.86 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 5 2 $35.60 $34.15 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 5 3 $26.32 $25.25 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 5 4 $21.68 $20.80 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 5 5 $18.90 $18.13 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 6 1 $67.66 $64.90 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 6 2 $37.70 $36.16 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 6 3 $27.71 $26.58 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 6 4 $22.72 $21.79 
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5C - Residential Services

Service Unit of Contracted Actual Benchmark Adopted Description DistrictCode Service Capacity Occupancy Rate Rate

RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 6 5 $19.72 $18.92 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 3 6 6 $17.72 $17.00 

RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 1 1 $31.07 $29.80 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 2 1 $33.89 $32.51 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 2 2 $20.90 $20.05 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 3 1 $41.49 $39.80 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 3 2 $24.67 $23.66 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 3 3 $19.05 $18.27 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 4 1 $43.28 $41.52 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 4 2 $25.54 $24.50 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 4 3 $19.62 $18.82 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 4 4 $16.66 $15.98 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 5 1 $48.38 $46.41 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 5 2 $28.07 $26.93 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 5 3 $21.30 $20.43 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 5 4 $17.91 $17.18 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 5 5 $15.89 $15.24 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 6 1 $50.81 $48.74 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 6 2 $29.27 $28.08 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 6 3 $22.10 $21.20 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 6 4 $18.50 $17.75 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 6 5 $16.36 $15.69 
RRB Room and Board, All Group Homes Day 4, 5, 6 6 6 $14.92 $14.31 

Incontinence Supplies and Nutritional Supplements
1.  For Habilitation, Community Protection and Treatment Group Home (HPD) and Habilitation, Group Home (HAB) services, the adopted rates on the Daily 
Rates schedule (Schedule 6) include incontinent supplies and/or nutritional supplements as indicated.

2.  For Habilitation, Vendor Supported Developmental Home (HBA/HBC) services, incontinence supplies and/or nutritional supplements shall be billed 
separately.

3.  These modifiers will be approved by the Division on a case-by-case basis, and the Qualified Vendor will be paid for these expenses in addition to the per 
diem rate and only for those residents that require them.

Nutritional Supplement Modifier
HBA, HBC Nutritional Supplement, 1:1 Day All N/A N/A $4.00 $4.00 

Incontinence Supplies Modifier
HBA, HBC Incontinence Supplies, 1:1 Day All N/A N/A $3.00 $3.00 

The element of the schedule is either new or was changed from the July 1, 2004 release
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Unit of Service
1.  For Home Health Aide and Nursing Services:
1.1  The basis of payment for all Services except for Nursing, Continuous is an hourly unit of direct service time.  Direct service time is the 
period of time spent with or on behalf of the consumer and verified by the consumer.  When billing, the Qualified Vendor should round its direct 
service time to the nearest 15-minute increment, as illustrated in the examples below:
- If services were provided for 65 minutes, bill for 1 hour.
- If services were provided for 68 minutes, bill for 1.25 hour.
- If services were provided for 50 minutes, bill for .75 hour.

1.2  If the Qualified Vendor provides nursing for more than 16 hours in one day, this is considered to be Nursing, Continuous.  One unit of 
Nursing, Continuous equals one day (16 or more hours in a 24-hour period) of direct service.  A Qualified Vendor billing for Nursing, Continuous 
shall bill for the appropriate number of days of service and include the actual cumulative hours of service provided on the billing document as 
required by the Division.  If the Qualified Vendor provides nursing for 24 hours and the same nurse provides the service and is 
able to sleep eight hours, this is billed as Nursing, Continuous.  However, if the needs of the consumer require 24 hours of awake skilled 
care, then this is billed as Nursing, Short Term.  Skilled hourly nursing and nursing respite may be combined.  However, if the primary 
caregivers are out of the home for 24 hours or more, the skilled hourly nursing becomes respite and is billed as Nursing, Continuous.

2.  For Therapies:
2.1  One unit of evaluation equals one visit for evaluation. 

2.2  The basis of payment for this service other than evaluation is an hourly unit of direct service time.  Direct service time is the period of time 
spent with or on behalf of the consumer and verified by the consumer.  When billing, the Qualified Vendor should round its direct service time to
the nearest 15-minute increment, as illustrated in the examples below:
- If services were provided for 65 minutes, bill for 1 hour.
- If services were provided for 68 minutes, bill for 1.25 hour.
- If services were provided for 50 minutes, bill for 0.75 hour. 

3.  Except for Nursing Services, in no event will more than three consumers receive the same service with a single direct service staff person at 
the same time.
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Home Health Aide
HHA Home Health Aide Client Hour 1 $17.43 $16.69 
HHA Home Health Aide Client Hour 2 $10.89 $10.43 
HHA Home Health Aide Client Hour 3 $8.72 $8.35 

Nursing, short-term
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 1 $37.21 $35.63Travel Less Than 50 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 2 $23.25 $22.27 Travel Less Than 50 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 3 $18.60 $17.82 Travel Less Than 50 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 1 $41.38 $39.62Travel Of 50 to 100 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 2 $25.86 $24.76 Travel Of 50 to 100 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 3 $20.69 $19.81 Travel Of 50 to 100 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 1 $42.42 $40.62Travel More Than 100 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 2 $26.51 $25.39 Travel More Than 100 Miles
Nursing, short-term - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Client Hour 3 $21.21 $20.31 Travel More Than 100 Miles

If Nursing, short-term is provided by a single direct service staff person to more than 3 consumers at the same time, the following formula shall 
be used to determine the per consumer per hour rate:
(Regular Rate * ((1 + (25% * number of additional clients))) / Total number of clients
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Nursing, continuous
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 1 $595.31 $570.01Travel Less Than 50 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 2 $372.07 $356.26Travel Less Than 50 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 3 $297.65 $285.00Travel Less Than 50 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 1 $662.03 $633.89Travel Of 50 to 100 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 2 $413.77 $396.18Travel Of 50 to 100 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 3 $331.01 $316.95Travel Of 50 to 100 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 1 $678.71 $649.86Travel More Than 100 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 2 $424.19 $406.17Travel More Than 100 Miles
Nursing, continuous - Service Delivery Requiring NHx Day 3 $339.35 $324.93Travel More Than 100 Miles

 

 

 

 

 

 

Occupational Therapy
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office OCT Client Hour 1 $55.04 $52.80Or Center Based Service Delivery
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office OCT Client Hour 2 $34.40 $33.00 Or Center Based Service Delivery
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office OCT Client Hour 3 $27.52 $26.40 Or Center Based Service Delivery
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

OCT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 1 $74.54 $71.50
Coolidge
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

OCT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 2 $46.59 $44.69 
Coolidge
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

OCT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 3 $37.27 $35.75 
Coolidge

If Nursing, continuous is provided by a single direct service staff person to more than 3 consumers at the same time, the following formula shall 
be used to determine the per consumer per hour rate:
(Regular Rate * ((1 + (25% * number of additional clients))) / Total number of clients
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 1 $59.63 $57.20Delivery Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 2 $37.27 $35.75 Delivery Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 3 $29.82 $28.60 Delivery Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 1 $68.81 $66.00Delivery Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 2 $43.00 $41.25 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 3 $34.40 $33.00 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 1 $74.54 $71.50Delivery Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 2 $46.59 $44.69 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 3 $37.27 $35.75 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 1 $103.21 $99.00Delivery Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 2 $64.50 $61.88 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 3 $51.60 $49.50 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 1 $114.68 $110.00Delivery Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 2 $71.67 $68.75 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 3 $57.34 $55.00 Delivery Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 1 $149.08 $143.00Delivery Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 2 $93.17 $89.38 Delivery Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Occupational Therapy/Early Intervention - Service OCT Client Hour 3 $74.54 $71.50 Delivery Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 1 $121.97 $117.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 2 $76.23 $73.13Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 3 $60.99 $58.50Therapist's Time Including Travel
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 1 $156.38 $150.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 2 $97.73 $93.75Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 3 $78.19 $75.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 1 $229.35 $220.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 2 $143.34 $137.50Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 3 $114.68 $110.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 1 $364.88 $350.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 2 $228.05 $218.75Therapist's Time Including Travel
Occupational Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of OCE Evaluation 3 $182.44 $175.00Therapist's Time Including Travel

Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office Or PHT Client Hour 1 $55.04 $52.80Center Based Service Delivery
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office Or PHT Client Hour 2 $34.40 $33.00 Center Based Service Delivery
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office Or PHT Client Hour 3 $27.52 $26.40 Center Based Service Delivery
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

PHT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 1 $74.54 $71.50
Coolidge
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

PHT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 2 $46.59 $44.69 
Coolidge
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

PHT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 3 $37.27 $35.75 
Coolidge

 

 

 

 

 

 

*NOTE: The rate is calculated per client in relation to the mileage distance from the Therapist's office to the location of the therapy appointment.
  If a therapist does not maintain office space, the distance is calculated from his/her home to the location of the therapy appointment.
 The one-way travel milieage to the appointment is used to determine the rate.

Physical Therapy
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Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 1 $59.63 $57.20Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 2 $37.27 $35.75 Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 3 $29.82 $28.60 Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 1 $68.81 $66.00Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 2 $43.00 $41.25 Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 3 $34.40 $33.00 Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 1 $74.54 $71.50Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 2 $46.59 $44.69 Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 3 $37.27 $35.75 Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 1 $103.21 $99.00Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 2 $64.50 $61.88 Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 3 $51.60 $49.50 Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 1 $114.68 $110.00Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 2 $71.67 $68.75 Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 3 $57.34 $55.00 Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 1 $149.08 $143.00Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 2 $93.17 $89.38 Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Physical Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery PHT Client Hour 3 $74.54 $71.50 Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Physical Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 1 $121.97 $117.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 2 $76.23 $73.13Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 3 $60.99 $58.50Therapist's Time Including Travel

 

 

Page 17 of 24 May 2, 2005



Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities
Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Physical Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 1 $156.38 $150.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 2 $97.73 $93.75Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 3 $78.19 $75.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 1 $229.35 $220.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 2 $143.34 $137.50Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 3 $114.68 $110.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 1 $364.88 $350.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 2 $228.05 $218.75Therapist's Time Including Travel
Physical Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of PHE Evaluation 3 $182.44 $175.00Therapist's Time Including Travel

Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office Or SPT Client Hour 1 $55.04 $52.80Center Based Service Delivery
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office Or SPT Client Hour 2 $34.40 $33.00 Center Based Service Delivery
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - In Office Or SPT Client Hour 3 $27.52 $26.40 Center Based Service Delivery
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

SPT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 1 $74.54 $71.50
Coolidge
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

SPT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 2 $46.59 $44.69 
Coolidge
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service 

SPT Delivered At The Arizona Training Program At Client Hour 3 $37.27 $35.75 
Coolidge

 

 

 

 

 

 

*NOTE: The rate is calculated per client in relation to the mileage distance from the Therapist's office to the location of the therapy appointment.
  If a therapist does not maintain office space, the distance is calculated from his/her home to the location of the therapy appointment.
 The one-way travel milieage to the appointment is used to determine the rate.

Speech Therapy
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Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 1 $59.63 $57.20Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 2 $37.27 $35.75 Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 3 $29.82 $28.60 Requiring Travel Less Than 30 Miles* 
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 1 $68.81 $66.00Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 2 $43.00 $41.25 Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 3 $34.40 $33.00 Requiring Travel Of 31 To 50 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 1 $74.54 $71.50Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 2 $46.59 $44.69 Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 3 $37.27 $35.75 Requiring Travel Of 51 To 60 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 1 $103.21 $99.00Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 2 $64.50 $61.88 Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 3 $51.60 $49.50 Requiring Travel Of 61 To 120 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 1 $114.68 $110.00Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 2 $71.67 $68.75 Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 3 $57.34 $55.00 Requiring Travel Of 121 To 150 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 1 $149.08 $143.00Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 2 $93.17 $89.38 Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Speech Therapy/Early Intervention - Service Delivery SPT Client Hour 3 $74.54 $71.50 Requiring Travel Of More Than 150 Miles*
Speech Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 1 $121.97 $117.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 2 $76.23 $73.13Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - <= 2 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 3 $60.99 $58.50Therapist's Time Including Travel
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Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates

Sub-Schedule 5D - Professional Services

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Service Clients Rate

Speech Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 1 $156.38 $150.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 2 $97.73 $93.75Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 2 - 3 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 3 $78.19 $75.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 1 $229.35 $220.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 2 $143.34 $137.50Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 3 - 4 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 3 $114.68 $110.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 1 $364.88 $350.00Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 2 $228.05 $218.75Therapist's Time Including Travel
Speech Therapy Evaluation - 4 - 6 Hours Of SPE Evaluation 3 $182.44 $175.00Therapist's Time Including Travel

 

 

 

 

 

 

*NOTE: The rate is calculated per client in relation to the mileage distance from the Therapist's office to the location of the therapy appointment.
  If a therapist does not maintain office space, the distance is calculated from his/her home to the location of the therapy appointment.
 The one-way travel milieage to the appointment is used to determine the rate.
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Schedule 5.2: Benchmark and Adopted Rates
Sub-Schedule 5E - Transportation Services

Rates
1. Separate urban and rural rates and procedure codes are established for transportation services.  Except for “Flat Trip Rate for Regularly 
Scheduled Daily Transportation,” urban transports are those that originate within the Phoenix and Tucson metropolitan areas.  All other 
transports that are not “Flat Trip Rate for Regularly Scheduled Daily Transportation” are defined as rural.

2. The “Flat Trip Rate for Regularly Scheduled Daily Transportation”  and exceptional transportation modified rates can only be used, and 
shall be the only rate used, for transportation of a consumer to a day treatment program by a Qualified Vendor that is not an independent 
provider.

3. Separate urban and rural rates are established for the “Flat Trip Rate for Regularly Scheduled Daily Transportation.”  The Qualified 
Vendor shall bill the Division the rural rate only after it receives authorization from the DDD Program Administrator/Manager or designee.  
The general guideline for authorizing the rural “Flat Trip Rate for Regularly Scheduled Daily Transportation” rate for rural areas is that the 
potential Day Treatment and Training client base of the program size has fewer than 20 consumers in a 40 mile radius.

Unit of Service
1.  One unit of service equals one trip per person one way, one mile of traveled distance, or 30 minutes of waiting time.

2.  Mileage reimbursement is limited to loaded mileage.  Loaded mileage is the distance traveled, measured in statute miles, while a 
consumer is on board and being transported.

Service Urban / Unit of Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Rural Service Rate

AHCCCS Non-Emergency Ground Transportation Services FFS Rates
TRO Ambulatory van Urban Base rate $7.02 $6.72
TRO Ambulatory van Rural Base rate $7.69 $7.69
TRO Ambulatory van Urban Per mile $1.15 $1.15
TRO Ambulatory van Rural Per mile $1.34 $1.34
TRO Wheelchair van Urban Base rate $13.94 $13.94
TRO Wheelchair van Rural Base rate $16.03 $16.03
TRO Wheelchair van Urban Per mile $1.05 $1.05
TRO Wheelchair van Rural Per mile $1.20 $1.20
TRO Stretcher van Urban Base rate $44.59 $44.59
TRO Stretcher van Rural Base rate $51.28 $51.28
TRO Stretcher van Urban Per mile $2.10 $2.10
TRO Stretcher van Rural Per mile $2.42 $2.42
TRO Taxicab Urban Base rate $1.12 $1.11
TRO Taxicab Rural Base rate $1.12 $1.11
TRO Taxicab Urban Per mile $1.10 $1.05
TRO Taxicab Rural Per mile $1.10 $1.05
TRO Transportation Waiting Time Urban 30 minutes $4.85 $4.85
TRO Transportation Waiting Time Rural 30 minutes $4.85 $4.85
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Service Urban / Unit of Benchmark Description Adopted RateCode Rural Service Rate

Other Transportation Services
Flat Trip Rate for Regularly Scheduled TRA Urban Per Trip $8.34 $8.00Daily Transportation
Flat Trip Rate for Regularly Scheduled TRA Rural Per Trip $11.12 $10.67Daily Transportation
Transportation Aide for non-Regularly Minimum Minimum TRO Both Client HourScheduled Daily Transportation ONLY Wage* Wage*

Modified Rates
The Division established separate exceptional transportation modified rate for "Flat Trip Rate for Regularly Scheduled Daily Transportation."  
Those situations where these modified rates are used will be considered time-limited in order to seek day programs closer to a consumer’s 
home long term or to develop an alternative so that consumers are not transported for so much of their day.  Based on the premise that 
these are temporary or transitional modified rates, these modified rates are capped at 50 consumers statewide annually.

Single Person Modified Rate
1.  This modified rate is to be used when a consumer has significant transportation needs associated with behavior needs (e.g. needs an 
aide to ride on the vehicle), wheelchair or other equipment needs or location and needs a single person transport.
2.  The DDD Program Administer/Manager, Central Office Business Operations and Program Operations must approve the request for a 
single person modified rate.  The request needs to include an explanation of what the consumer’s support needs are and what alternatives 
were explored, such as vendor calls or finding routes that the consumer can share a ride with others.

Single Person, Flat Trip Rate for Regularly TRA Urban Per Trip $16.68 $16.00Scheduled Daily Transportation
Single Person, Flat Trip Rate for Regularly TRA Rural Per Trip $22.25 $21.34Scheduled Daily Transportation

Extensive Distance Modified Rate
1.  This modified rate is to be used when a consumer must travel 25 to 90 miles one way to attend a day program.
2.  The DDD program Administrator/Manager, Central Office Business Operations, and Program Operations must approve the request for 
an extensive distance modified rate.  The request must include an explanation of all alternatives researched such as finding a day program 
closer to the consumer’s home, developing a new program tailored to the consumer’s needs and in their home community, etc.

Extensive Distance, Flat Trip Rate for TRA Urban Per Trip $16.68 $16.00Regularly Scheduled Daily Transportation
Extensive Distance, Flat Trip Rate for TRA Rural Per Trip $22.25 $21.34Regularly Scheduled Daily Transportation

* As of the date of publication, the federal minimum wage for covered nonexempt employees is $5.15 an hour.
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Sub-Schedule 5F - Other Services

Unit of Service
1.  The basis of payment for this service is an hourly unit of direct service time.  Direct service time is the period of time spent with or 
on behalf of the consumer and verified by the consumer.  When billing, the Qualified Vendor should round its direct service time to 
the nearest 15-minute increment, as illustrated in the examples below:
- If services were provided for 65 minutes, bill for 1 hour.
- If services were provided for 68 minutes, bill for 1.25 hour.
- If services were provided for 50 minutes, bill for .75 hour.

2.  In no event will more than three consumers receive the same service with a single direct service staff person at the same time.

Service Unit of Multiple Benchmark Adopted DescriptionCode Service Clients Rate Rate

Specialized Habilitation With Music Component
Specialized Habilitation With Music HAH Client Hour 1 $36.78 $35.28 Component
Specialized Habilitation With Music HAH Client Hour 2 $22.99 $22.05 Component
Specialized Habilitation With Music HAH Client Hour 3 $18.39 $17.64 Component
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Sub-Schedule 5G - Support Coordination (Case Management)

Unit of Service
1.  The basis of payment for this service is one month of service time.  Units shall be recorded on a per consumer per month 
basis.

2.  In the event that this service is provided for less than one whole month, a monthly unit shall be expressed as a fraction of one, 
rounded to the nearest 1/100th, according to the actual number of days in that month.  For example, if in May the consumer was 
enrolled with the Qualified Vendor for only 20 days:
- The unit of service shall be recorded as 1 divided by the number of days in a given month, multiplied by the number of days 
consumer was enrolled ( = 1 / 31 * 20 = 0.64516 = 0.65)
- In this example, the rate for May shall equal 0.65 multiplied by the published rate

3.  This service may not be provided to more than one consumer at the same time.

Service Unit of Benchmark Adopted DescriptionCode Service Rate Rate

Support Coordination (Case Management)
Support Coordination (Case Management)

CPG Access to ASSISTS Through DES Office One Month $87.30 $87.30 
Caseload not to exceed an average of 1:40

Targeted Support Coordination (Targeted Case Management)
Targeted Support Coordination (Targeted Case Management)

CPG Access to ASSISTS Through DES Office One Month $36.80 $36.80 
Caseload not to exceed an average of 1:80

State Funded Support Coordination (State Funded Case Management)
State Funded Support Coordination (State Funded Case 
Management)CPG One Month $22.50 $22.50 Access to ASSISTS Through DES Office
Caseload not to exceed an average of 1:110

The element of the schedule is either new or was changed from the July 1, 2004 release
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